‘House of Cards’ Creator Beau Willimon Elected President of Writers Guild of America, East

Read on: TheWrapTheWrap

“House of Cards” creator Beau Willimon was elected president of the Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) on Tuesday as a result of its 2017 Council election.

Vice President Jeremy Pikser and Secretary-Treasurer Bob Schneider both won reelection.

Incumbents Bonnie Datt, Susan Kim and Courtney Simon, along with new members David Simon, Amy Sohn and Tracey Scott Wilson, were elected to the Freelance Council.

Incumbent Andrea Ciannavei, runner-up to the six open Freelance Council seats, was elected to a one-year term on the Council to fill the absence created by Willimon’s win as president.

Kim Kelly, Hamilton Nolan and incumbent Phil Pilato were elected as Staff Council members.

Overall, there were nine open Council seats, six Freelance and three Staff, along with the roles of President, Vice President and Secretary-Treasurer. Freelance members work in screen, television and digital media, while Staff members work in television, radio and digital news.

Related stories from TheWrap:

How Streaming Networks Invaded the Emmys: From 'House of Cards' to 'Handmaid's Tale' (Photos)

'House of Cards' Creator Beau Willimon to Make Broadway Debut With 'The Parisian Woman' Starring Uma Thurman

'House of Cards': The Style Evolution of Robin Wright's Claire Underwood (Photos)

Let's Talk About Joel Kinnaman's Insane 'House of Cards' Body