Gotham Awards 2016: Complete Winners List — Updating Live

Read on: IndieWire

And we’re off to the races! The Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP) is looking to officially kick off the 2016-17 awards season with tonight’s 26th Annual Gotham Awards, taking place this evening at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City. The ceremony’s nomination list is studded with some of the year’s most beloved indies, including “Manchester By the Sea,” “Certain Women,” “Everybody Wants Some!!,” “Moonlight” and “Paterson,” and should give us a better sense of which films and performances are poised to go even further as the season steadily progresses over the coming weeks.

READ MORE: Gotham Awards 2016: ‘Manchester By The Sea’ Leads With Four Nominations, ‘Moonlight’ and ‘Paterson’ Also Dominate

In addition to the competitive awards, Gotham Award Tributes will be given to actors Amy Adams and Ethan Hawke, director Oliver Stone, and Industry Tribute recipient, producer Arnon Milchan. This year’s nomination jury included IndieWire’s own David Ehrlich, Eric Kohn and Liz Shannon Miller.

Check out all of the winners of the 2016 IFP Gotham Awards below, updating live throughout the show. You can also watch the show live, right here.

Best Feature
“Certain Women”
“Everybody Wants Some!!”
“Manchester by the Sea”

Best Documentary
“I Am Not Your Negro”
“O.J.: Made in America”

"Manchester By The Sea"

“Manchester By the Sea”

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award
Robert Eggers for “The Witch”
Anna Rose Holmer for “The Fits”
Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert for “Swiss Army Man”
Trey Edward Shults for “Krisha”
Richard Tanne for “Southside with You”

READ MORE: Barry Jenkins’ ‘Moonlight’ Journey: How the Year’s Great Discovery Became an American Cinema Milestone

Best Screenplay
“Hell or High Water,” Taylor Sheridan
“Love & Friendship,” Whit Stillman
“Manchester by the Sea,” Kenneth Lonergan
“Moonlight,” Story by Tarell Alvin McCraney; Screenplay by Barry Jenkins
“Paterson,” Jim Jarmusch

Best Actor
Casey Affleck in “Manchester by the Sea”
Jeff Bridges in “Hell or High Water”
Adam Driver in “Paterson”
Joel Edgerton in “Loving”
Craig Robinson in “Morris from America”

Best Actress
Kate Beckinsale in “Love & Friendship”
Annette Bening in 20th “Century Women”
Isabelle Huppert in “Elle”
Ruth Negga in “Loving”
Natalie Portman in “Jackie”

jackie natalie portman


Breakthrough Actor
Lily Gladstone in “Certain Women”
Lucas Hedges in “Manchester by the Sea”
Royalty Hightower in “The Fits”
Sasha Lane in “American Honey”
Anya Taylor-Joy in “The Witch” (WINNER)

READ MORE: ‘American Honey’ Star Sasha Lane: How One Wild Spring Break Led To Becoming Indie’s Newest It Girl

Special Jury Award For Ensemble Performance
Mahershala Ali, Naomie Harris, Alex Hibbert, André Holland, Jharrel Jerome, Janelle Monáe, Jaden Piner, Trevante Rhodes, and Ashton Sanders (previously announced Special Jury Award)

Breakthrough Series – Long Form
“Crazy Ex-Girlfriend”
“The Girlfriend Experience”
“Horace and Pete”
“Marvel’s Jessica Jones”
“Master of None”

Breakthrough Series – Short Form
“The Gay and Wondrous Life of Caleb Gallo” (YouTube)
“Her Story” ( (WINNER)
“The Movement” (
“Sitting in Bathrooms with Trans People” (Seriously.TV)
“Surviving” (YouTube)

Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.